Borrowed Dreams

Recently there have been talks about a website called LendInk. I was concerned about it myself. I also wrote LendInk and requested my title be taken off their site. That same evening, after more discussions, I went back to the website to gather information on how the site operates but could no longer view it. My Norton antivirus screen popped up with its warning about the site.  I have since learned the owner took the site down after recieivng complaints. This link was sent to me to shed some light on the subject:

http://aprillhamilton.blogspot.com/2012/08/congratulations-you-killed-lendink-and.html

Perhaps some education on lending policies would ease tensions. I do not have the scoop on this subject, but what I do have is an opinion. Some would shine a positive light on the use of such “lending” sites. I’m certainly not opposed to getting my work out there to readers. In fact that’s why I give it free to begin with, I run the special to get interested readers with the hopes of a review or two. The review hasn’t happened but I keep hope, maybe even pray someone takes the time.

Getting back to the point, I want readers but, go figure a but right? I’m not in the know of how the, “lend,” sites actually work. For instance, there was no actual purchase of my title in the eBook format when my book appeared at the LendInk site. I know because being new to self publishing I obsessively check the stats! However, there were free purchases, my doing of course, I put the special out. I’m guessing this is how my title was picked up and sent to LendInk as a title that someone can borrow. Ok, I’m still not opposed to reaching readers. As a self publisher, not having the marketing support of a traditional publishing company, I, and all indie’s have to watch for ourselves.

So here comes the fear, My book is being lent to a thousand people and I haven’t sold a single copy, OMG! Do you feel me? How am I as a self published author to know just how many sites my title is being offered for free at, one, two, one hundred…more?

It’s a hot topic and I want to learn more about “lend” sites. If they are a benefit to authors, (self published), what are the true benefits? Is this program a good way of getting our works out there to readers, much like us giving them out for free? If so sign me up! But if I haven’t sold a single copy and my book is being borrowed a hundred times over without, and here’s what’s tearing at my gut, without a single review from any of the borrowers, I’m the loser.

I’m not savvy in developing these type of websites, but if I were, I’d without a doubt create one, but try and get retailers like Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes & Noble, and Kobo, etc., to provide a link to authors/publishers to my “lending” website where they can monitor the the borrows, maybe check off the total they allow to be borrowed, have borrowers leave a review for the author and future customers with a link back to the retailer (Amazon, Smashwords, etc.) where the review can be seen.

Now that’s lending/borrowing sense. But right now, self published authors are operating clueless, we don’t know where our books have landed in the world of borrowing, or the number of sites offering them. And if you’re a brand new author, new to self publishing, like me, it’s troubling.

About Ann Simpson
Ann Simpson lives in Falmouth, Virginia near the Civil War Battlegrounds of Historic Fredericksburg. Most of her paranormal writing takes place in the early morning before the family wakes and the spirits rest. She loves to write and read paranormal mysteries, suspense and drama. Book one of the Dark Guests Series, The Genealogist's Guests, was published in October 2013. Ann is currently writing book two, of which she may title, Megan's Heritage, sounds great...I just came up with it. I think I'll keep it!

6 Responses to Borrowed Dreams

  1. I hadn’t heard about the site until this post, but I always try to never post anything from my fiction works on any internet site – you just have no idea whose reading and potentially stealing. Good luck with the self publishing, I’ll have to read some of your stuff, though on your site not someone else’s 😉

  2. terry6155 says:

    Hello Jessica,Thanks for stopping by! I’m learning there are many sites for lending and borrowing eBooks. It can be a positive for writers with good feedback. The titles are copyright material and so there are some protections against theft. The “not knowing” where each author’s title is offered for borrowing is where it gets tricky. Amazon, Smashwords, Kobo, CreateSpace, Diesel, Barnes & Noble, etc. are all solid publishing websites if you should ever be inspired to share your fictions!

  3. Rd says:

    If you have your book on Amazon at the 70% rate you gave permission for your book to be loaned. you have no choice in the matter. Read your contract with Amazon. Your book could only be posted on a site like Lendink if someone bought your book or got one from you for free. Amazon handled all the lending as per your contract said say they could.

    The person who bought your book can lend it to anyone they want to, but only once, and never again. You have no right to know where of to whom they lend it to.

    • terry6155 says:

      Thanks! Yes I know about Amazon’s contract, been learning here recently :)…Amazon sent me an email explaining they didn’t provide the website a link and are not affiliated with the lending service. It hadn’t sold through Amazon and I trust their reply. The website itself shut down and I don’t know really how that came about and why if everything was good they would shut down. Yes I don’t believe we should know who the customers are lending eBooks :), though it would be nice to know our books are out there and which sites our publishing companies are affiliated with. Thanks for your reply, I appreciate you stopping by!

  4. This news is completely new to me and I’ll have to check this out since my books are on a number of websites which allow a partial read.The only lending site I was aware of is the Kindle KDP one. Thanks for the timely warnings.

    • terry6155 says:

      Hello, and this was news to me as well. The site remains down. I don’t know exactly why, but it was a result of the many complaints they recieved. There’s been mixed opinions about the site. I found another site where my book was listed for rental, but after clicking to rent it a link said it was unavailable. Perhaps that would have been the case here. The site was taken down before I could explore. Thank you for following my blog. Also, as I recieve or find news about self publishing I tweet it!

Leave a Reply

1st 10 pages

1st impressions. Final drafts.

The Delete Key

A real writer knows when to hit the delete key.

The Dystopian Nation of City-State

A cruel, futuristic vision created by science fiction authors James Courtney and Kaisy Wilkerson-Mills. ©2013-2016. All Rights Reserved. All writings available through Amazon.

Authordiscovery.com

Helping authors get found, get feedback, get fans, and even get famous!

ladybug and lulu

two little ladies. one continuous adventure.

How to Make, Market and Sell Ebooks

self-publishing tips for authors

Christa Wojciechowski

Dark Fiction, Delirium, and Digital Marketing

readers+writers journal

Connecting Readers and Writers

When Nothing Goes Write

...and I mean nothing.

Andrea Reads America

A literary tour of the USA

Balls Deep and crying like a baby...

Reviews, ramblings, and crap like that from Rich Meyer.

Words That Stay

A Blog by K.M. Alleena

preposterousprose

20,000 leagues under the blog

Michael Frost's Frostbitten Blog

I wouldn't look under the bed if I were you.

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

Sarah O'Flynn

Blogging My First Novel, one post at a time

Books Go Social

Social Media and Marketing for Authors

audrey lexington

My dream is to become a professional bullshit artist. Or, as others prefer to call them, a novelist. I know, a highly unoriginal and unattainable goal. What's my back-up plan? Ninja fairy. Here's to being disgustingly unoriginal!

