The plot thickens

With just over 20,000 words to go in the month long NaNoWriMo challenge, my plot has come full circle. I don’t know if it is too soon, but my main character, Macon, has just been notified.

All the things that’s been happening to him since he begun his jail time and of course just as things were looking brighter his antagonist(s) have revealed just how much they’d do in order to gain control him.

Still I don’t know if it’s too soon with more than 20,000 words to go, a lot happens in that span. But the need to move the story along at this point was clear, Macon had to know why all these things were happening and frankly so would readers.

So after 28,362 words chapter 18 will begin with a little  twist to the story. Macon’s being routed in a different direction while all along longing for things to be as he hoped, as he had dreamed.

I feel its risky! But I do have more plot, scenes, and ideas. If I find I’ve made a mistake, that I’ve moved forward too soon, that’s ok, I’ll add more twist if need be, maybe, oh well bring it!

Little snippets of ideas are also flashing before me, for a second novel, a part two? Part two, what am I kidding myself! I tell myself to ignore those little thougths and get the first one done! Now let me return to my novel and flirt with danger.

About Ann Simpson
Ann Simpson lives in Falmouth, Virginia near the Civil War Battlegrounds of Historic Fredericksburg. Most of her paranormal writing takes place in the early morning before the family wakes and the spirits rest. She loves to write and read paranormal mysteries, suspense and drama. Book one of the Dark Guests Series, The Genealogist's Guests, was published in October 2013. Ann is currently writing book two, of which she may title, Megan's Heritage, sounds great...I just came up with it. I think I'll keep it!

One Response to The plot thickens

  1. Ann Simpson says:

    Goodness, I wrote that post three years ago and I never received a comment from anyone. I think you can turn off the notifications on your end. View the bottom of the email you receive, there should be a link to stop receiving them. Sorry, you were bombed with all the emails. I checked my blog and the only comment there is the one I just approved that came from you. Weird, right? If it continues to be a problem I’ll contact WordPress. Thanks for reading my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

1st 10 pages

1st impressions. Final drafts.

The Delete Key

A real writer knows when to hit the delete key.

The Dystopian Nation of City-State

A cruel, futuristic vision created by science fiction authors James Courtney and Kaisy Wilkerson-Mills. ©2013-2016. All Rights Reserved. All writings available through Amazon.

Authordiscovery.com

Helping authors get found, get feedback, get fans, and even get famous!

ladybug and lulu

two little ladies. one continuous adventure.

How to Make, Market and Sell Ebooks

self-publishing tips for authors

Christa Wojciechowski

Dark Fiction, Delirium, and Digital Marketing

readers+writers journal

Connecting Readers and Writers

When Nothing Goes Write

...and I mean nothing.

Andrea Reads America

A literary tour of the USA

Balls Deep and crying like a baby...

Reviews, ramblings, and crap like that from Rich Meyer.

Words That Stay

A Blog by K.M. Alleena

preposterousprose

20,000 leagues under the blog

Michael Frost's Frostbitten Blog

I wouldn't look under the bed if I were you.

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

Sarah O'Flynn

Blogging My First Novel, one post at a time

Books Go Social

Social Media and Marketing for Authors

audrey lexington

My dream is to become a professional bullshit artist. Or, as others prefer to call them, a novelist. I know, a highly unoriginal and unattainable goal. What's my back-up plan? Ninja fairy. Here's to being disgustingly unoriginal!

