Week 2 Ugh, Hard?

I finished day 7 on day 6 with 11745 words of which I refused to return to. I aimed to get a couple of days ahead but time got away from me. It’s week two! I had just read from another NaNo writer that week two is the hardest. I’m desperately trying not to focus on the hard part.

As of right now I know where my story, characters, and plot need to end. But now I wonder how they’re going to get there! Darn it that hard part! I have plenty of ideas and I kind of know what must happen.

In a panick I checked my 18 chapter mini outline I had prepared, but haven’t followed, and yes no help there! Guess I’ll know later whether this will be a lessoned learned!

My main character Macon, he can’t seem to escape a group of people who intend to smash his face in, literally. But it will be much worst than that as they weasel their way into the things that matter most to Macon. So how much damage can inmates locked away do to someone in the commnity? I think my characters have plotted it all out, and I believe they aren’t so much concerned about the damage they can create from the inside to anyone on the outside. It’s about controlling the inside, and Anna, well she’s a casualty of war. Can Macon save her? I just don’t know.

OK I’ll go with that, but it isn’t the theme or sum of the story. Week two seems to be a point where I have to pull the plot together. Chapter 8 is going to take some thought, and my thoughts keep adding more to the plot on the chapters I’ve already written.

I imagine many other NaNo participants are toughing it out right now and I’m going to join them.

About Ann Simpson
Ann Simpson lives in Falmouth, Virginia near the Civil War Battlegrounds of Historic Fredericksburg. Most of her paranormal writing takes place in the early morning before the family wakes and the spirits rest. She loves to write and read paranormal mysteries, suspense and drama. Book one of the Dark Guests Series, The Genealogist's Guests, was published in October 2013. Ann is currently writing book two, of which she may title, Megan's Heritage, sounds great...I just came up with it. I think I'll keep it!

Leave a Reply

1st 10 pages

1st impressions. Final drafts.

The Delete Key

A real writer knows when to hit the delete key.

The Dystopian Nation of City-State

A cruel, futuristic vision created by science fiction authors James Courtney and Kaisy Wilkerson-Mills. ©2013-2016. All Rights Reserved. All writings available through Amazon.

Authordiscovery.com

Helping authors get found, get feedback, get fans, and even get famous!

ladybug and lulu

two little ladies. one continuous adventure.

How to Make, Market and Sell Ebooks

self-publishing tips for authors

Christa Wojciechowski

Dark Fiction, Delirium, and Digital Marketing

readers+writers journal

Connecting Readers and Writers

When Nothing Goes Write

...and I mean nothing.

Andrea Reads America

A literary tour of the USA

Balls Deep and crying like a baby...

Reviews, ramblings, and crap like that from Rich Meyer.

Words That Stay

A Blog by K.M. Alleena

preposterousprose

20,000 leagues under the blog

Michael Frost's Frostbitten Blog

I wouldn't look under the bed if I were you.

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

Sarah O'Flynn

Blogging My First Novel, one post at a time

Books Go Social

Social Media and Marketing for Authors

audrey lexington

My dream is to become a professional bullshit artist. Or, as others prefer to call them, a novelist. I know, a highly unoriginal and unattainable goal. What's my back-up plan? Ninja fairy. Here's to being disgustingly unoriginal!

